Enrolments open for 2020 & 2021

For more information, please call (08) 9304 5500 or email enrolments@pmacs.wa.edu.au

House Patrons

At Peter Moyes we have five Houses - Cuthbert, Durack, Florey, Hollows and Lingiari. Every student is allocated to a House and participates regularly range of activities including competitive sports, debating, theatre sports and team games. Each House has an annual Charity Day, where students enjoy a range of fun activities while raising money for a chosen charity.

The House system provides student leadership opportunities with each House having two House Captains per sub-School who represent the students in each House. We encourage a sense of House loyalty and pride.

Below is a summary of our House Patrons:

 Cuthbert House

Cuthbert House is named after Betty Cuthbert (1938 - 2017) who, as an Olympic athlete and winner of 4 Gold medals, showed the values of courage, determination and ambition. Betty was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis and then dedicated her life to helping educate others about Multiple Sclerosis and promoting research into it. She has used her faith in God to assist her in dealing with her disease.


Durack House

Durack House is named after Mary Durack (1913 – 1994) who saw her fair share of hardships, whilst young, which encouraged her to survive and develop a positive attitude to life. Her positive attitudes towards learning, equality and kinship have influenced society. Durack believed in knowledge and insight as shown through her thorough research of topics presented in her novels. She also strongly believed in equality and compassion for all, as she was dedicated to gaining aboriginal rights, and her success in literature was through personal confidence and competence.


Florey House

Florey House is named in honour of Howard Florey, Baron Florey of Adelaide OM FRS FRCP (1898 –1968), who was an Australian pharmacologist and pathologist. Former Prime Minister John Howard has described Howard Florey as “the greatest Australian of the twentieth century.” Howard Florey’s work saved the lives of millions of people. He was the son of an Adelaide boot manufacturer, who won a scholarship to the St. Peter’s Anglican School in Adelaide after which he commenced his remarkable career in science. He shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1945 with Sir Ernst Boris Chain and Sir Alexander Fleming for his role in the development and mass production of penicillin. Although Fleming received most of the credit for the discovery of penicillin, it was Florey who carried out the first clinical trials of penicillin in 1941 at the Radcliffe Infirmary in Oxford. Florey is regarded by the Australian scientific and medical community as one of its greatest scientists. Florey’s portrait appeared on the Australian $50 note for 22 years (1973–95), and the suburb of Florey in the Australian Capital Territory is named after him, as is an electorate in the South Australian parliament. Howard Florey’s life is a wonderful tribute to the opportunity that education provides for people to achieve greatness and to enhance the lives of all the world’s citizens.


Hollows House

Hollows House is named after Professor Fred Hollows (1929-1993). As an eye surgeon, he helped those living in poverty prevent and overcome blindness. He accomplished this through his passion to help others. He created the Fred Hollows Foundation which has continued his work after his death. It helps others that cannot afford surgery by running as a non-profit organisation and can be found in many places throughout the world. His achievements have allowed many people to see again and created hope for those less fortunate than ourselves.


Lingiari House

Lingiari House is named in honour of Vincent Lingiari OAM (1908-1988) who was a member of the Gurindji people from the Victoria River District, Northern Territory. He worked for many years to improve conditions for Aboriginal people working on cattle stations. He led a strike of indigenous stockmen that would eventually reshape the agenda of relationships between indigenous Australians and the wider community.

Become part of our School