The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

Today more than 130 countries have adopted The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award program with over 8 million young people having participated worldwide.  

Award Benefits

The Award is a leading youth development program, empowering all young Australians aged 14-24 to explore their full potential and find their purpose, passion and place in the world. It can play a vital role in providing opportunities for young people to develop essential life skills, increase their employability and foster creativity and innovation. The Award encourages and rewards personal growth and community spirit, reflecting the School Values. 


Personal achievement: Individuals set their own goals, and work towards them.

New Experiences: There is the opportunity to grow personally and connect with others, through new experiences.

A marathon, not a sprint: The Award is about showing regular commitment and perseverance. 

Fun: The Award is fun. Activities reflect interests and passions.

What does it entail?

To achieve each Award, each young person must learn a skill, improve their physical wellbeing, volunteer in their community and experience a team adventure in a new environment with each level being progressively more challenging. Examples of each component are:  





A non-physical activity

Music, art, cooking, reading, learning to drive, dressmaking, sign language


Competitive or non-competitive

Netball, running, dance, gymnastics


Volunteering your time to help others.

Sports coaching or leadership, volunteering in the community, acting in a leadership role in a youth club or uniformed youth organisation


A team journey, expedition or exploration

To complete a particularly demanding journey by foot, cycle or canoe/kayak

Please see the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award website for more information.

Ignite Award

The Ignite Award is a challenging programme of discovery for young people aged 9 – 13 years and provides a framework to learn valuable skills, be physically active, assist others in the community and experience adventures. It is a great tool for young people to transition into secondary school and fosters positive self-development and leadership skills.

What does it entail?

There are 4 levels of Ignite Award:

  • Levels 1 & 2
  • Levels 3 & 4

To achieve any level of Ignite Award, young people create a unique programme of activities across four activity sections: Physical Activity, Hobby, Volunteering and Adventure. Young people can complete the activities in a single session; however, they are encouraged to undertake the activities over a period of time.


Level 1

Level 2

Level 3

Level 4


Minimum 3hrs

Minimum 6hrs

Minimum 10hrs

Minimum 15hrs

Physical activity

Minimum 3hrs

Minimum 6hrs

Minimum 10hrs

Minimum 15hrs


Minimum 3hrs

Minimum 6hrs

Minimum 10hrs

Minimum 15hrs


Minimum 3hrs

Minimum 6hrs

Minimum 10hrs

Minimum 15hrs


Hobbies can include Art/craft, Astronomy, Card making, Coaching, Cooking, Dance, Fishing, Jewellery making, Pet care, Photography School production

Physical activity can include Aussie Rules Football, Athletics, Basketball, Canoeing, Cycling, Dancing, Golf, Horse riding, Ice skating, Netball, Rugby, Soccer, Swimming, Yoga

Volunteering can include School council, Peer Support, Fundraising, Litter collection, Cadet groups, fundraising, School band playing at centres/hospitals, Reading for the elderly

Adventure can include walking, canoeing, cycling, visiting Museums, Art galleries, Libraries, National Trust properties, Historical landmarks/sites, Zoo, Planetariums, Aquariums, Observatories

The Ignite Awards would prepare students well for embracing the Duke of Edinburgh’s Bronze Award at the age of 14.

For more details please visit their website.